top of page

MING


MING is a short film about a Chinese immigrant paper cutter living in New York and

trying to make a living from his art. This was my first project in graduate school that

defined my visual esthetic and voice as a filmmaker. I connected deeply with this project

because it conveyed my ability to shoot and create a strong visual piece that had a

deeper universal narrative. My main character struggled with his past and was hesitant

in doing any interviews. Challenges around this project taught me the value of gaining

trust and using an acute sensitivity to tell a personal story. As a result, the film created a

deeper narrative about loss and reached a greater audience beyond my academic

community.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page